Housed at Sam Houston State University, the Texas Review has been publishing poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction for four decades. The Texas Review partners with Texas Review Press and SHSU's MFA in Creative Writing, Editing, and Publishing to publish two issues per year.

Past contributors include Hadara Bar-Nadav, Richard Bausch, Charles Baxter, Nicky Beer, Madison Smartt Bell, Kai Carlson-Wee, Angie Cruz, B.H. Fairchild, Beth Ann Fennelly, Tony Hoagland, Carolyn Kizer, Ted Kooser, Wayne Miller, Rajiv Mohabir, Matthew Olzmann, Benjamin Percy, Kevin Prufer, Amy Silverberg, Analicia Sotelo, Virgil Suarez, Ann Townsend, and Jake Adam York.

Like our namesake state, the Texas Review aims to be big. We aim to publish the best new literature that draws us and connects us to the lives of others, that shakes us out of our accustomed ways of seeing and being, literature that takes neither its subject or form for granted, that interrogates and renews the world around us. Most of all, we aim to be a publication not merely open but welcoming to the diverse voices and aesthetics of our local, national, and international communities.


Nick Lantz

Editor & Nonfiction Editor

Nick Lantz is the author of four books of poetry: We Don’t Know We Don’t Know (Graywolf Press), The Lightning That Strikes the Neighbors’ House (University of Wisconsin Press), How to Dance as the Roof Caves In (Graywolf Press), and You, Beast (University of Wisconsin Press). His poetry has appeared in American Poetry Review, Gettysburg Review, New England Review, and Pleiades, among others. He is the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. He teaches in the MFA in Creative Writing, Editing, and Publishing at Sam Houston State University.

Ching-In Chen

Poetry Editor

Ching-In Chen is the author of The Heart's Traffic (Arktoi Books) and recombinant (Kelsey Street Press) as well as coeditor of The Revolution Starts at Home: Confronting Intimate Violence Within Activist Communities (South End Press, AK Press). A Kundiman, Lambda, Callaloo, and The Watering Hole Fellow, they are part of the Macondo and Voices of Our Nations Arts Foundation writing communities. They have also been awarded fellowships from Can Serrat, Millay Colony for the Arts, the Norman Mailer Center, and Imagining America. Their work has appeared in The Best American Experimental Writing, The &NOW Awards 3: The Best Innovative Writing, and Troubling the Line: Trans and Genderqueer Poetry and Poetics. They are a senior editor of The Conversant. They currently teach creative writing and world literature at Sam Houston State University.

Scott Kaukonen

Fiction Editor

Scott Kaukonen is the author of the collection of stories Ordination, which won the Ohio State Prize for Short Fiction, and was published by the Ohio State University Press. The collection includes the story “Punnett’s Squares,” winner of the Nelson Algren Prize from the Chicago Tribune. He’s a past recipient of a Literature Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, and he’s also received an AWP/Prague Summer Fellowship. His fiction has appeared in the Chicago Tribune, the Cincinnati Review, Pleiades, Barrelhouse, Normal School, Third Coast, and elsewhere. He directs the MFA in Creative Writing, Editing, and Publishing at Sam Houston State University.

Amanda Nowlin

Advising Editor

Amanda Nowlin is a prose writer whose work has appeared in Callaloo, Vandal, the anthology Literary Cash, and The Dallas Morning News, among others. She is a graduate of the University of Houston’s PhD program in Literature and Creative Writing where she was nonfiction editor at Gulf Coast. Amanda received her MFA in creative writing from New York University. Currently, she is the coordinator for the National Book Awards Festival at Sam Houston State University, where she also teaches.

Contributing Editors

Cara Blue Adams, Olivia Clare, Angie Cruz, Joshua Edwards, Carmen Giménez Smith, Juan Felipe Herrera, TC Tolbert, Candace G. Wiley, and Lynn Xu